Yadav Chief Ministers – LALU PRASAD YADAV

Lalu Prasad Yadav is a renouned politician from Bihar. He was the Minister of Railways from 2004 to 2009 in the  ruling United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government, and the President of the Rashtriya Janata Dal. He is a  Member of Parliament in the 15th Lok Sabha from the Saran constituency in Bihar. He is famous for his charismatic leadership and mass appeal.

He served as the Chief Minister of Bihar from 1990 to 1997. Lalu Prasad Yadav was born in Phulwaria, in the Gopalganj district of Bihar. His father’s name was Kundan Rai and his  mother’s name, Marachhiya Devi. He is a lawyer by proffesion. He holds Bachelor’s degree in Law (LLB) and a Masters in Political Science from B. N. College, Patna, Patna University. He turned down Patna University’s  Honorary Doctorate in 2004.

Lalu Prasad Yadav had his schooling, from 1st standard to 7th standard, at Bihar Military Police No-5 middle school. He married Rabri Devi on June 1, 1973. They have two sons and seven daughters. Lalu Prasad Yadav entered politics as General Secretary of the Patna University Students’ Union in 1970. He led the student movement inspired by Jai Prakash Narayan, Raj Narain, Karpoori Thakur and Satyendra  Narayan Sinha. The former Chief Minister of Bihar and the then President of Bihar State Janata Party, Satyendra Narayan Sinha supported him as a candidate for the Lok Sabha and campaigned for him.

He was elected as a member of the 9th Lok Sabha on a Janata Party ticket at the age 29, becoming one of the youngest member of the Indian Parliament at the time. He formed the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) in 1997, after breaking away from the Janata Dal.

Leave a Reply